ITA Recognizes 40 CAC Tennis Scholar Athletes & Eight Programs
ITA Recognizes 40 CAC Tennis Scholar Athletes & Eight Programs

ITA All-Academic Release: Men | Women

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) has announced the recipients for the 2019 ITA All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes. A total of 40 student-athletes earned All-Academic status, while eight programs earned team recognition. Christopher Newport led the league with 14 honorees, while Penn State Harrisburg collected eight.

The conference contingent are listed below:

Christopher Newport: Men*: Walter Buck, Nicholas Ruzicka, Andy Mason, Dominic Lacombe, Ryan Macy, Mitch Brody; Women*: Kara Ferner, Amanda Yermal, Sydney Sawyer, Veronika Jacobson, Maygan Brewer, Lucy Davis, Alison Burgess, Reagan Delp

Frostburg State: Men: Nate Farlow, Derek Thompson; Women*: Jenna Lipinski, Allison Paul, Sophia Staggeres, Ariana Zuzunaga, Sabrina Tolbert

Mary Washington: Men*: Max Fritsch, Matthew Miles; Women*: Rachel Cooper, Lauren Quinn, Rachel Summers

Penn State Harrisburg: Men: Jared Gluck; Women*: Sheiva Ansary, Courtney Bennett, Abisoorya Chittibabu, Abigail Clifford, Erin Harnish, Elysse Mellott, Maria Jose Torre

St. Mary's*: Men*: Jacob Bartholow, Jonathan Gorel, Liam Murdoch, Samuel Sheats; Women*: Claire Bodine, Marianne Hershey

* - denotes ITA All-Academic Team award

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).