Salisbury's Tucker Named CAC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year; Christopher Newport's Rice, York's Childs Collect Major Awards
Salisbury's Tucker Named CAC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year; Christopher Newport's Rice, York's Childs Collect Major Awards

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. - Salisbury senior Kyle Tucker, Christopher Newport freshman Dylan Rice and York head coach Brandon Childs collected major awards to lead the 2018 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team. York led all teams with nine all-star selections, followed by Salisbury (8), Christopher Newport (6), Frostburg State (2), and Southern Virginia, Mary Washington and St. Mary's with one apiece. 

Tucker, a defender, was named CAC Player of the Year after spearheading a Salisbury defense that has limited opponents to an average of just 6.97 goals per game this spring. Tucker has caused 35 turnovers (3rd CAC) and scooped up 75 ground balls (t-5th CAC) so far this season. He becomes the fourth straight and 16th overall Sea Gull to claim conference Player of the Year accolades. Tucker completes his career as a three-time first-team All-CAC selection. 

Rice, an attacker, was selected as CAC Rookie of the Year following a stellar freshman campaign for the Captains. Rice leads the CAC in goals (49) and ranks fifth in points (66). He is the first CNU player to earn Rookie of the Year honors. Rice also selected as a second-team All-CAC performer, one of two CNU newcomers to receive all-conference laurels. 

Childs, who guided the Spartans to their first-ever CAC regular season title, collects CAC Coach of the Year honors for the second-straight season and third time overall throughout his tenure at York. He is now one of just three coaches in CAC history to win the award three times, joining Salisbury's Jim Berkman and former Mary Washington boss Kurt Glaeser in that elite club. 

York landed a conference-best nine players on the All-CAC squad, including seven on the first team. Senior defender Joey Fiorino claimed his fourth consecutive all-star nod, and his third straight time as a first-team selection. Senior goalkeeper Landry Marshall, senior midfielder Matt Whitcher and junior faceoff specialist Billy Sasso were also named to the first team, earning all-conference honors for the second time in their careers. First-time all-stars landing on the first team for the Spartans included junior attack Thomas Pfeiffer, senior midfielder Dillon Hannah and sophomore long stick midfielder Nick Roman. The Spartans were also represented on the All-CAC second team by junior attack Hunter Davis and junior defender J.D. Beck. Beck was a repeat second-team honoree. 

Salisbury secured eight spots on the All-CAC team, with four players on both the first and second teams. In addition to Tucker, fellow senior defender Will Nowesnick earned his third consecutive first-team All-CAC nod. Also nabbing first-team accolades for SU were senior short stick Troy Miller and sophomore long stick midfielder Kevin Murphy. Miller was a second-team all-star in 2017, while Murphy received all-star recognition for the first time. All-CAC second teamers for the Sea Gulls included sophomore attacker Griffin Moroney, junior midfielder Corey Gwin, senior midfielder Garrett Reynolds and sophomore goalkeeper Brandon Warren

Christopher Newport placed six players on the All-CAC squad, headlined by senior attacker Matthew Crist as the lone Captain on the first team. Second team all-stars for CNU were Dylan Rice, the Rookie of the Year, along with senior faceoff specialist Tony Cruz, senior short stick Jake O'Connell, junior defender Drew Cornell, and freshman defender Max Wayne. Cruz was the lone repeat all-star among the group, picking up his third straight All-CAC award. Rice and Wayne were the lone freshmen throughout the conference to receive All-CAC honors. 

Frostburg State collected a pair of All-CAC awards, with senior midfielder Adam Gross leading the way as a first-team selection. Gross earned his third-straight all-conference award after landing on the second team each of the last two seasons. Senior defender Bradley Jones was a repeat second-teamer for the Bobcats. 

Southern Virginia, Mary Washington, and St. Mary's each claimed one spot on the All-CAC team. Southern Virginia sophomore attacker Shawn Lamb, the 2017 CAC Rookie of the Year, made his way onto the first team for the Knights. In addition to his Rookie of the Year award last spring, Lamb was also a second-team all-star. Mary Washington senior midfielder Owen Dingman represented the Eagles as a second-team pick for the second year in a row, while St. Mary's senior long stick midfielder Conner Campbell earned second team honors, the first all-star honor of his career. 

2018 CAC Player of the Year: Kyle Tucker, Salisbury
2018 CAC Rookie of the Year: Dylan Rice, Christopher Newport
2018 CAC Coach of the Year: Brandon Childs, York (3rd time, also in 2014 & 2017)

2018 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse First Team

Matthew Crist Sr. Att Christopher Newport  Charlottesville, Va. / Albemarle  
Shawn Lamb So. Att Southern Virginia  Buena Vista, Va. / Rockbridge County 2nd & ROY in '17
Thomas Pfeiffer Jr. Att York Forest Hill, Md. / Bel Air  
Adam Gross Sr. Mid Frostburg State North Beach, Md. / Northern 2nd in '17, 2nd in '16
Dillon Hannah Sr. Mid York Catonsville, Md. / Catonsville  
Matt Whitcher Sr. Mid York Huntington Station, N.Y. / Huntington 2nd in '17
Joey Fiorino Sr. Def York Reisterstown, Md. / McDonogh 1st in '17, 1st in '16, 2nd in '15
Will Nowesnick Sr. Def Salisbury Lake Forest, Ill. / Loyola Academy 1st in '17, 1st in '16
Kyle Tucker Sr. Def Salisbury  Chester Springs, Pa. / Downingtown East 1st in '17, 1st in '16
Billy Sasso Jr. FO York Freehold, N.J. / Freehold Township 2nd in '16
Troy Miller Sr. SS Salisbury Wading River, N.Y. / Shoreham-Wading River 2nd in '17
Kevin Murphy So. LP Salisbury Palatine, Ill. / Saint Viator  
Nick Roman So. LP York Dillsburg, Pa. / Northern York  
Landry Marshall Sr. GK York Brookeville, Md. / Glenelg 2nd in '17


2018 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Second Team

Hunter Davis Jr. Att York Finksburg, Md. / Westminster  
Griffin Moroney So. Att Salisbury Califon, N.J. / Hun School  
Dylan Rice Fr. Att Christopher Newport Mechanicsville, Va. / Atlee  
Owen Dingman Sr. Mid Mary Washington Baltimore, Md. / Calvert Hall 2nd in '17
Corey Gwin Jr. Mid Salisbury Berlin, Md. / Stephen Decatur  
Garrett Reynolds Sr. Mid Salisbury Havre de Grace, Md. / Archbishop Curley   
J.D. Beck Jr. Def York Stevensville, Md. / Kent Island 2nd in '17
Drew Cornell Jr. Def Christopher Newport Richmond, Va. / Collegiate  
Bradley Jones Sr. Def Frostburg State Centreville, Md. / Queen Anne's 2nd in '17
Max Wayne Fr. Def Christopher Newport Brambleton, Va. / Rock Ridge  
Tony Cruz Sr. FO Christopher Newport Littleton, Colo. / Heritage 1st in '17, 2nd in '16
Jake O'Connell Sr. SS Christopher Newport Springfield, Va. / West Springfield  
Conner Campbell Sr. LP St. Mary's Berwyn, Pa. / Conestoga  
Brandon Warren So. GK Salisbury Forest Hill, Md. / Calvert Hall