Salisbury's Corey Gwin Collects CAC Male Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honors
Salisbury's Corey Gwin Collects CAC Male Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honors

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – Salisbury senior midfielder Corey Gwin (Berlin, Md./Stephen Decatur) was honored by the Capital Athletic Conference (CAC) athletic directors as the 2018-19 CAC Male Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 

Gwin appeared in 81 games, scored 138 goals, tallied 55 assists, totaled 193 points, netted 31 man-up markers, and placed 255 shots on goal for a shots-on-goal percentage of 56.7. He appeared in three national championships, won two national championships, and won three CAC championships.

The 2019 United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Fran McCall Outstanding Midfielder of the Year, Gwin achieved USILA First Team All-America status along with being named First Team All-CAC.

Gwin is the sixth Salisbury male student-athlete to receive the CAC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Other award winners from Salisbury include Andrew Levy (2013, baseball), Justin McGrath (2010, soccer), Eric Willey (2009, baseball), Dan Meehan (2004, soccer) and Michael Guiffrida (1999, soccer). 

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be a senior with a minimum 3.50 cumulative grade point average, demonstrate athletic success and be a major contributor to his program.

Capital Athletic Conference Male Scholar-Athletes of the Year 

1992    Wayne Langbein-GAL (track & field)   2007    Justin Baker-UMW (basketball)
1993    Wayne Langbein-GAL (track & field)              Chris Brower-YCP (baseball)
1994    Sean Keehan-SMC (basketball)   2008    Justin Baker-UMW (basketball)            
1995    Paul Drumgoole-CUA   2009    Eric Willey-SAL (baseball) 
1996    Xan Abess-CUA   2010    Justin Anderson-UMW (swimming)
1997    Jeremy Borys-CUA (basketball)              Justin McGrath-SAL (soccer)
1998    Aaron Myers-YCP (baseball)   2011    Sam Burum-SMC (basketball)             
1999    Michael Guiffrida-SAL (soccer)   2012    Peter Windsor-SMC (lacrosse) 
2000    Jeff Olenick-GOU (cross country)   2013    Andrew Levy-SAL (baseball) 
2001    Jeff Olenick-GOU (cross country)   2014    Andrew Gear-SMC (tennis)
2002    Erik Kochert-UMW (track & field)   2015    Tyler Hutson-YCP (lacrosse) 
2003    Dan Dupras-UMW (basketball)   2016    Zach Keeler-FSU (baseball)
2004    Dan Meehan-SAL (soccer)   2017    Zach Campbell-CNU (cross country/track & field) 
2005    Brandon Bushey-YCP (basketball)   2018    Dalton Myers-YCP (basketball) 
2006    Brandon Bushey-YCP (basketball)   2019    Corey Gwin-SAL (lacrosse)