Wesley Holds Senior Student-Athlete Awards Ceremony

The Wesley College athletic department held its year end Senior Student-Athlete Awards Ceremony in the Outdoor Amphitheater.

Each program honored its seniors and handed out most valuable player awards.  The department also handed out several other honors, including the Murray Award, the Pat Knight Award, the Shirley Wentworth Award and the Male and Female Outstanding Athletes.

Junior Aaron Benson (Swarthmore, Pa./Strath Haven) won the Murray Award.  The Murray Award is in honor of Mr. Joseph Murray. The Murray family has honored the MVP of the Wesley College football team with the award since 1990. It is the most prestigious honor a Wolverine football player can receive.

The Pat Knight Award was presented to Bill Strickland.  The award is named in honor of local sports legend Pat Knight, who for years served as Wesley College’s Sports Information Director. The award honors an individual who gives their time to support and enhance the Wesley College Athletic experience.

The Wentworth Award is presented to one male and one female student-athlete.  It is named in honor of Shirley Wentworth, the late wife of the legendary former Wolverine men’s basketball coach, Jim Wentworth. Shirley’s spirit lives on through this award representing outstanding sportsmanship, work ethic, character, courage and commitment.  The 2010 winners were seniors Nettie Choice (Lewes, Del./Cape Henlopen) of the volleyball team and Jacques Bowe (Millsboro, Del./Sussex Tech) of men's basketball.

The following is a listing of the Wesley team MVPs: men's basketball-Paul Reynolds (Smyrna, Del./Smyrna); women's basketball-Angie Owens (Seaford, Del./Seaford); men's cross country-John Clarke (Middletown, Del./Middletown); women's cross country-Kristine Bailey (Vancouver, Wash./Evergreen); field hockey-Brooke Tadlock (Middletown, Del./Middletown); golf-Chris Osberg (Amherst, Va./Amherst); women's lacrosse-Brooke Bennett (Milton, Del./Cape Henlopen); men's soccer-Nico Scarpato (Washington Township, N.J./Washington Township); women's soccer-Lindsey Campbell (Bear, Del./Padua Academy); softball-Kelly Karle (Baltimore, Md./Mercy); men's tennis-Mickey DeSouza (Beverly, N.J./Palmyra); women's tennis-Rebecca Pennington (Earlville, Md./Bohemia Manor); men's track & field-Matt Roberston (Tabernacle, N.J./Seneca); women's track & field-Sharis Allen (Dover, Del./Caesar Rodney); volleyball-Choice and Lilia Brekke (Prescott, Ariz./Caesar Rodney (Del.)).  The baseball and men's lacrosse teams did not name their MVPs.