Salisbury's Miller, Hughes, and Chamberlin Sweep All-CAC Field Hockey Major Awards
Salisbury's Miller, Hughes, and Chamberlin Sweep All-CAC Field Hockey Major Awards

YORK, Pa. - CAC champion Salisbury swept the major awards on the 2016 All-CAC Field Hockey team as senior midfielder Hannah Miller, freshman back Jillian Hughes, and head coach Dawn Chamberlin collected top conference honors. 

Miller was named Player of the Year, Hughes picked up Rookie of the Year honors, and Chamberlin was tabbed as Coach of the Year for the 15th time. Miller becomes the 16th Sea Gull to win Player of the Year, while Hughes is the ninth SU player to be named Rookie of the Year. Chamberlin also won Coach of the Year from 1995-2005, 2008-09, and 2011. 

Salisbury, which captured its fourth straight CAC title this fall, earned six spots on the All-CAC squad, tying Christopher Newport for most in the conference. Four Sea Gulls claimed first-team honors, highlighted by Miller and Hughes on the top squad. Senior forward Becca Rinaca and senior back Annah Brittingham also picked up first-team accolades. Brittingham was a second-team selection in 2015, while Rinaca earned all-conference honors for the first time. 

Landing on the All-CAC second team for the Sea Gulls were senior forward Abbey Shobe and junior goalkeeper Tressie Windsor, both first time all-stars. 

CNU tied Salisbury for the most all-conference award winners, placing three on the first team and three on the second team. Senior goalkeeper Bailey Lien grabbed the third first-team all-conference award of her career, while sophomore forward Rachael Allshouse and junior midfielder Alexa Weaver also earned first-team honors for the Captains. 

Sophomore back Brittan Muir, the 2015 Co-Rookie of the Year, repeated as an All-CAC performer as a second-team selection for CNU. Senior back Sarah Miller and freshman midfielder Rachel Cooke also represented the Captains on the second team. 

CAC runner-up Mary Washington secured five all-conference selections, led by senior midfielder Christine Loehr, junior back Erin Kaila, and freshman forward Lauren Hopkins on the first team. Loehr was a repeat All-CAC selection, having earned second team honors in 2014. Junior midfielder Allegra Massey-Elim and freshman forward Lexie Dixson claimed second-team accolades for the Eagles. 

York also landed five players on the all-star team, with a trio on the first team and two on the second team. Junior midfielder Ali Posey secured her third-straight first-team award for the Spartans, while senior back Sydney Lamarsh and sophomore forward Lindsay Nye were also named to the first team. Lamarsh was a second-team pick in 2014 and 2015, while Nye earned her first all-star nod after receiving Co-Rookie of the Year honors last fall. Senior back Alexa Taylor and junior forward Autumn Mallory were named to the second team for the Spartans. Taylor was also a second-team selection in 2015. 

St. Mary's and Frostburg State each placed two players on the All-CAC second team.

St. Mary's senior midfielder Brady Wolf and senior forward Carly Todd represented the Seahawks as all-stars. Wolf completed her career as a three-time all-conference honoree, having also been named to the second team in 2015 and 2013, along with Rookie of the Year in 2013. The honor was the first of Todd's career. 

Frostburg State senior goalkeeper Jacqueline Gover and senior midfielder Taylor Bowen each picked up second team honors. Gover was also a second-team selection in 2014. 

Wesley was represented by senior Morgan Seymour, who collected her second-straight second-team honor. 

2016 CAC Player of the Year: Hannah Miller, Salisbury
2016 CAC Rookie of the Year: Jillian Hughes, Salisbury
2016 CAC Coach of the Year:  Dawn Chamberlin, Salisbury  (15th time, also from 1995-2005, 2008-09, 2011) 

2016 All-CAC Field Hockey First Team

Rachael Allshouse
So. For Christopher Newport
Annandale, Va./Annandale

Lauren Hopkins
Fr. For Mary Washington Virginia Beach, Va./Kempsville

Lindsay Nye
So. For York Duncannon, Pa./Susquenita
Co-ROY in '15
Becca Rinaca
Sr. For Salisbury Pylesville, Md./North Harford

Christine Loehr
Sr. Mid Mary Washington Chesapeake, Va./Grassfield
2nd in '14
Hannah Miller
Sr. Mid Salisbury
Severna Park, Md./Severna Park
1st in '15, 2nd in '14
Ali Posey
Jr. Mid York Airville, Pa./Red Lion
1st in '15, 1st & ROY in '14
Alexa Weaver
Jr. Mid Christopher Newport Seaford, Va./York

Annah Brittingham
Sr. Back Salisbury Pocomoke City, Md./Pocomoke
2nd in '15
Jillian Hughes
Fr. Back Salisbury Andover, Mass./Andover

Erin Kaila
Jr. Back Mary Washington Fredericksburg, Va./Massaponax
Sydney Lamarsh
Sr. Back York Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake
2nd in '15, 2nd in '14
Bailey Lien
Sr. GK Christopher Newport Mechanicsville, Va./Hanover
1st in '15, 1st in '13


2016 All-CAC Field Hockey Second Team

Lexie Dixson
Fr. For Mary Washington Landenberg, Pa./Avon Grove

Autumn Mallory
Jr. For York Leonardtown, Md./Leonardtown

Abbey Shobe
Sr. For Salisbury Pocomoke City, Md./Pocomoke

Carly Todd
Sr. For St. Mary's Crisfield, Md./Crisfield

Taylor Bowen
Sr. Mid Frostburg State Frederick, Md./Urbana

Rachel Cooke
Fr. Mid Christopher Newport Vienna, Va./James Madison

Allegra Massey-Elim
Jr. Mid Mary Washington Fredericksburg, Va./Fredericksburg Acad.

Brady Wolf
Sr. Mid St. Mary's Reisterstown, Md./McDonogh
2nd in '15, 2nd & ROY in '13
Sarah Miller
Sr. Back Christopher Newport Fredericksburg, Va./James Monroe

Brittan Muir
So. Back Christopher Newport Springfield, Va./West Springfield
1st & Co-ROY in '15
Morgan Seymour
Sr. Back Wesley Smyrna, Del./Smyrna
2nd in '15
Alexa Taylor
Sr. Back York King George, Va./King George
2nd in '15
Jacqueline Gover
Sr. GK Frostburg State Woodbine, Md./Glenelg
2nd in '14
Tressie Windsor Jr. GK Salisbury Delmar, Md./Delmar